Skip to content

snapshot/coffee: STARBUCKS coffee jelly frapp

June 26, 2009

I like that Starbucks Taiwan is willing to experiment. I think I even saw this last year or the year before and thought that I should give it a try. I thought I’d just walk in and drool over the chocolate muffin and enjoy some AC and walk out, but the sign caught my eye and before you know it, I’m ordering a Caramel Coffee Jelly Latte Frappuccino.

Yes, I said, Caramel Coffee Jelly Latte Frappuccino. Dude, if you are going to have a calorie bomb, you gotta go all the way.

But I immediately regretted getting it after I took my first sip. I think I’m so used to the chewy Q consistency of boba, I felt that the coffee jelly didn’t have any spring in its step. It was a bit flavorless and lost in the icy snowstorm of my Caramel Coffee Jelly Latte Frappuccino. I think if the coffee jelly was a bit stronger in flavor, it’s a good concept. After all, I’m a huge fan of the coffee jelly topped with coffee ice cream dessert from Sawtelle Kitchen, and this is pretty much the same thing, but blended.

But for the price of one frapp- NT$150- I can get three “Yuan Qi Q Nai” and chew on brown sugared boba to my heart’s content.

This hasn’t hit the states yet, has it?

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment